« Back

Snow Sheep

Scientific Name: Ovis nivicola

Subspecies/Distribution: 5 subspecies have been described: 1. Kamchatka Snow Sheep (Ovis n. nivicola): Kamchatka. 2. Okhotsk Snow Sheep (Ovis n. alleni): The Stanovoi mountains, Dschugdschur Mountains and the Judoma-Maja highlands. 3. Jakut Snow Sheep (Ovis n. lydekkeri): Jakutia from the Lena river to the Kolymo Mountains. 4. Putorana Snow Sheep (Ovis n. borealis): (The only protected subspecies) An islolated area in the Putorana Mountains between the Jenissei and Lena rivers. 5. Tschutkotka Snow Sheep (Ovis n. koriakorum): Consist of two isolated populations, with the following status as subspecies (according to Russian specialists): The Koriaken Mountains: The Korjak Snow Sheep (Ovis n. koriakoreum). The population on the Tschukotka peninsula: The Tschukotka Snow Sheep (Ovis n. tschukschorum).

Habitat: Extreme arctic and alpine tundra, mountainous slopes and cliffs with grassy plains between 100 and 1.800 meters.

Description: Compared to the Argali, the Snow Sheep is medium sized, with a compact body, weighing a maximum of 140 kg, with a shoulder height of 1 meter and a total body length of 1,80 m without tail (12 cm). The colour is variable, depending on subspecies, but is mostly of a brown or cinnamon brown hue. On the face the colour may be lighter. The neck and breast does not have elongated and mane-like hairs. The horns are of medium length, very heavy and massive, with a very thick base.

Hunting method: Stalking.

Hunting available in: Eastern Siberia (Russia).

Hunting Tour Offers

Do As Thousands of Other Hunters!

Subscribe to The Newsletter and Get Travel Offers along with Hunting News directly in Your Inbox

  • Great Offers on Hunting Tours
  • Info on Hunting Abroad
  • Special Holiday Packages