« Back


Scientific Name: Cervus elaphus maral

Subspecies: The subspecies division made by some authors do not correspond with those of the trophy books (see introduction). However, we will include them here according to distinctions made in the introduction to the Red Deer.

Distribution: A total of 7 subspecies have been described, 4 of which occur in the Holarctic-Asian region: 1. Siberian Wapiti (Cervus c. sibiricus): Northwest- and southwest Mongolia, Altai and Baikal. 2. Tien Shan Wapiti (Cervus c. songaricus): Tien Shan, Alatau, Dzungaira, western Mongolia and Xingjiang. 3. Ala Shan Wapiti (Cervus c. alashanicus): Horan Shan, central Mongolia (China) and Kansu. 4. Isubra (Cervus c. zanthophygus): Transbaikal, east to the Amur-Ussuri region, northern Korea, Manchuria, northern China and eastern Mongolia.

Habitat: Grasslands and open forests in low and mountanous regions.

Description: Large deer weighing up to 500 kg and measuring up to 1,60 m over the shoulder. It reaches a total body length of 2,50 m without tail. General colour reddish brown with buff rump, larger than that of the European Red Deer. The neck has a darkish brown mane. The antlers are heavier than those of the European Red Deer, with a twodimensional crown.

Hunting method: Stalking, on horseback, with dogs, luring calls in the rut.

Hunting available in: Almost all areas of distribution, China excepted.

Hunting Tour Offers

Do As Thousands of Other Hunters!

Subscribe to The Newsletter and Get Travel Offers along with Hunting News directly in Your Inbox

  • Great Offers on Hunting Tours
  • Info on Hunting Abroad
  • Special Holiday Packages