« Back

Sikahjort (Asia)

Scientific Name: Cervus nippon

Subspecies: A total of 10 subspecies have been described, eight of which occur in this region: 1. Japanese Sika (Cervus n. nippon): Honshu, Kyushu, Shikoku, Yakushima, Mageshima and the Goto Islands (Japan). 2. Dybowski- or Ussurian Sika (Cervus n. hortulorum (manchuricus)): Manchuria and Korea. 3. Cervus n. pseudaxis: South-eastern China and southern Vietnam. 4. Cervus n. sichuanicus: Sichuan and Gansu (China). 5. Cervus n. yesoensis: Hokkaido and Honshu (Japan). 6. Cervus n. aplodontos: Northern Honshu (Japan). 7. Cervus n. keramae: The Ryukyu Islands (Japan). 8. Cervus n. puchellus: Tsuschima (Japan). From Eastern Asia the Sika Deer was introduced into Europe and is now found in: Ireland, Sweden, England, Germany, Denmark, Austria, Switzerland, Poland, Ukraine and Scotland.

Habitat: Deciduous forests with dense undergrowth.

Description: Medium sized deer weighing up to 130 kg. It measures up to 1,15 m over the shoulder and reaches a total body length of 1,90 m. General colour reddish brown with white spots in summer and greyish in winter. The animal often appears blackish as it likes to wallow in dirt and mud and their coat is therefore often soiled with dirt. Longish tail and whitish rump with blackish edges. The antlers have normally no more than 8 points, but those of the Dubowski-Sika, the largest of the subspecies, may reach an almost crown-like appearance.

Hunting method: Stalking or lying in wait. Very shy and nocturnal.

Hunting available in: In the area of distribution in the region, as well as in all the countries in which the Sika Deer has been introduced. Red Deer (Cervus elaphus) [Asien]:

Hunting Tour Offers

Do As Thousands of Other Hunters!

Subscribe to The Newsletter and Get Travel Offers along with Hunting News directly in Your Inbox

  • Great Offers on Hunting Tours
  • Info on Hunting Abroad
  • Special Holiday Packages